Assalamo Alaykom everyone!

This is the first episode of Muslim diaries in which we will try to learn a lesson through a real life experience.

This episode is dedicated to the one who trusted me enough to share this deepest problem with me, and who had the kindness to accept that I write this humble piece about him as a gift for succeeding the worldly test he passed through thanks to Allah.

I’d like to start the story with a wise saying of his “I experienced it, and I have observed that you can never have something which is not written for you.”

 

I was one step away from having all I wished. A job near home, a better degree and a life beside the one I’ve always wanted. I was the most suitable for that position; I did my best, my written exam was perfect and I had 14 chances over hundreds to be accepted by the committee. I was even ready to give bribe just to get that post because many things depended on it. I wanted to fulfill the condition of my ex fiancee’s family thus I was thinking about only ONE person and forgot about Allah. But when things looked like going the right way, my candidature was refused and I lost everything I dreamed of. I felt depressed, I couldn’t believe it could turn that bad after being closer than ever to my goals. I had many questions in mind that needed answers, initially “WHY?”: Why me? Why now? Why do I have to lose my future family too? Is it a sort of punishment from Allah? Wasn’t I worth it? And many other questions kept turning inside me. It might be that I already knew the answers but I wished someone else could answer me.

After I started feeling better, I tried to find an explanation to all what happened. I have always believed that if we were shown our future being given that which we were deprived of, we’d choose to let it go by our own. After all, who can love us more than the One who created us? The fact that we do not get the wisdom behind what happens doesn’t mean that things are wisdom free.

Allah says: { وَعَسَى أَنْ تَكْرَهُوا شَيْئاً وَهُوَ خَيْرٌ لَكُمْ وَعَسَى أَنْ تُحِبُّوا شَيْئاً وَهُوَ شَرٌّ لَكُمْ وَاللَّهُ يَعْلَمُ وَأَنْتُمْ لا تَعْلَمُونَ}

Quran 2:216

Meaning: {But perhaps you hate a thing and it is good for you; and perhaps you love a thing and it is bad for you. And Allah Knows, while you know not.}

I lost a good position and a family, but Allah saved me from a sin that I wouldn’t be able to

Source: Printerest
Source: Printerest

handle for the rest of my life. If I got that job through bribe all what I would realize in future based on it would remind me of the sin that allowed me to get there… every single gain, every piece of food, all the clothes I’d wear, even things I’d give in charity … In fact I was one step away from demolishing my future on Earth and in the Hereafter, I was one step away from destroying my relation with Allah and I completely forgot that everything is in His hand alone.

{ وَلَا تَقُولَنَّ لِشَيْءٍ إِنِّي فَاعِلٌ ذَٰلِكَ غَدًا} {إِلَّا أَن يَشَاءَ اللَّـهُ ۚ وَاذْكُر رَّبَّكَ إِذَا نَسِيتَ وَقُلْ عَسَىٰ أَن يَهْدِيَنِ رَبِّي لِأَقْرَبَ مِنْ هَـٰذَا رَشَدًا} Quran 18:23-24

Meaning {And never say of anything, “Indeed, I will do that tomorrow,”} {Except [when adding], “If Allah wills.” And remember your Lord when you forget [it] and say, “Perhaps my Lord will guide me to what is nearer than this to right conduct.”}

Months later, the same exam was organized on a higher level. One person was about to be selected for just one post and the whole province was concerned, this means fewer chances. I presented my candidature with a different purpose this time, with a stronger faith, with more trust in Allah and more understanding of His divine wisdom. The only thing I was ready for was to be satisfied with what He decreed “I want this job only to make my parents happy. If it is good for me, give it to me, otherwise I will keep calm and wont question about it.”

When I stood before the committee to have the interview, there, Allah showed me the meaning of:

{إِنَّمَا أَمْرُهُ إِذَا أَرَادَ شَيْئًا أَن يَقُولَ لَهُ كُن فَيَكُونُ}

Quran 36:82

{His Command, when He intends something, is only to say to it: Be, so it is.}

All the questions I was asked were about the chapters I revised right before entering the interview room, Subhana Allah! I could make it! I had the highest score either in the written exam or in the interview, and of course a life time lesson Alhamdu Lillah.

I have to say that Asphar hesitated before writing this article and I had to encourage her a little bit. I yet don’t know how it looks like, but I hope it will help people learn something and will strengthen their trust in Allah.

“It is all about belief… when I was trying by myself, I couldn’t, and when I left everything in the hands of the Most Merciful, Allah swt, He didn’t disappoint me.”

Alhamdu Lillah 🙂

