Hi everyone! Here is something I worked on some time ago during my learning process. I’m totally a beginner with photoshop, so feel free to write any critics, tips or maybe encouraging words in the comments area 🙂

Time to photoshop!

Before starting I’d say that the idea of it looking like a painting pleased me, so I tried to make it look more like an old painting than an old picture. But the steps are almost the same in this case.
As you may guess, it is a montage of tow pictures, one of sky and an other of a yellow plane.
Here is the photo before I started working on it (click on the image for a better view)

Avion1
The plane you see on the final picture is a Morane-Saulnier MS.733 Alcyon. And guess what… this plane has a story that I am going to share with you by the end of the “How to” session. I started by cropping the image so that the only element I had left was the plane itself then I placed it on the initial picture as you may see.

2

All I needed then was an old paper in order to follow this tutorial that explains in detail the way I did the work

While you are choosing a picture to try this on, let’s learn a bit about Morane-Saulnier MS.733 Alcyon and the reason I chose it 🙂

 

Why a yellow plane?

Morane-Saulnier MS.733 Alcyon, commonly called “الطـيـارة الصـفـرا – Tiyara Safra – The yellow plane“, in Algeria, is a plane that was used by French colonization in order to bomb resistance and inhabited villages. Men, wemen, elders and kids were victims of countless massacres. I think that one of the factors that made of that part of history an immortalized memory is the following song that used to be sung by our ancestors and that describes how terrified people were when the yellow plane flew in Algeria’s sky and how, though all that, they were determined to set their land free, here is the translation of some lines:

O yellow plane stop bombing (us)
I have but one brother, mom can’t have kids (anymore)
O Allah have mercy on martyrs
I will go to mountains
I’d go and wont come back…
The soldier who visited us
And whom we housed
Heard the French (army) coming
He couldn’t even drink coffee
It was Sheik Al Aifa (one of the leaders of resistance)
And I didn’t recognize him
O Allah have mercy on martyrs
They (French Army) broke the road into pieces
An the wind blew it away
(leaving)The soldiers of Sheikh Al Aifa murdered and wounded
O Allah have mercy on martyrs…

The poet carries on describing leaders, how resistants were killed and picturing some parts of the events that occured during that era … then ends by asking his mother not to cry because it is time for him to join resistance and he knows he will have the same fate as all those he wrote about.

 

Thanks

I hope you enjoyed reading the article 🙂 Before saying goodbye, I’d like to thank you for your time and to thank my friends for their constructive critics thanks to which I decided to “relook” my text before sharing it again. See you on the next article 🙂

